External Scientific Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) composed of eminent scientists and chaired by Prof. Dr. Roland Schüle (Center for Clinical Research, Univ. Freiburg Medical Center) continuously assists the Executive Board and the principle investigators by reviewing the research programs and advising on policy and scientific matters.

An in-depth and thorough evaluation of the Center takes place before the start of every three-year funding period. The evaluation report and recommendations of the SAB are forwarded to and assessed by the Rectorate of the University of Cologne. 

We would like to express our thanks to Prof. Dr. Dr. Jürgen Heesemann (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich) for his outstanding contributions to further develop the CMMC´s scientific and structural the chairing the SAB over many years. His active contribution to further advance the CMMC´s scientific, educational as well as structural developments.


Prof. Dr. med. Roland Schüle

Center for Clinical Research

University of Freiburg Medical School

  • 1


Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Joachim Anders

Dept. of Nephrology - Medical Clinic IV

Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Braun

Dept. of Cardiac Development and Remodelling

Max-Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research
Bad Nauheim

Prof. Dr. med. Gerd P. Hasenfuß

Dept. of Cardiology and Pneumology

University Hospital Göttingen

Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Georg Kräusslich

Dept. of Infectious Diseases, Virology

University Hospital Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. med. Ulrich Kunzendorf

Dept. IV of Internal Medicine

University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Hans-Konrad Müller-Hermelink

Institut for Pathology

Julius-Maximilians-University Würzburg

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Klaus-Armin Nave

Dept. of Neurogenetics

Max-Planck Institut for Experimental Medicine

Prof. Dr. med. Christian Peschel

III. Medical Dept. of Hematology and Oncology

Klinikum rechts der Isar
Technical University of Munich

Prof. Dr. med. Clemens A. Schmitt

Molecular Cancer Research Center - Charité-University Medical Center - Berlin

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Lydia Sorokin

Inst. of Physiological Chemistry and Pathobiochemistry

Cells-in-Motion Cluster of Excellence - University Münster

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dietmar Vestweber

Dept. of Vascular Cell Biology

Max-Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Sabine Werner

Institute for Molecular Health Sciences

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

  • 1