Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne

Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing - Curriculum Vitae

Education and professional career

since 2017: Co-chair of the Excellence Cluster CECAD, Cologne
since 2015: Vice Dean of Finances, Medical Faculty, University of Cologne
since 2011: Director of the Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne,
since 2007: Co-Coordinator of the Cologne Cluster of Excellence on Cellular Stress Responses in Aging-Associated Diseases (CECAD), University of Cologne
since 2007: Professor of Medicine (W3), University of Cologne; Director and Chairman Department II of Internal Medicine, University of Cologne
2006 - 2007: Professor of Medicine (W3), University Hospital Freiburg
2003 - 2005: Attending Physician, Heisenberg Fellow of the DFG, University of Freiburg
2003: Board examination Internal Medicine and Nephrology
2002: Habilitation, Venia Legendi for Internal Medicine
2000 - 2002: Fellowship in Nephrology, University Hospital Freiburg
1998 - 2000: Research Fellow in Nephrology, Harvard Medical School, Boston; Research Fellowship of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
1996 - 1998: Postdoctoral Training at the Institute for Cardiovascular Physiology, Frankfurt
1995 - 1996: Residency in Medicine, University Hospital Freiburg
1994: Promotion (MD thesis), University of Freiburg
1987 - 1994: Medicine, University of Freiburg

Awards, distinctions and professional activities (selection)

2020: Appointed Member, North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts
2018: Honorary Member, American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA)
2015: Elected Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI)
2014: Elected Chair, 10th International Podocyte Meeting, Freiburg
2013: Elected Chair, 29th Ernst Klenk International Symposium on "Systems Approaches in Translational Medicine", Cologne, Germany
2010: Elected Member, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
since 2010: President, Scientific Advisory Board Foundation for Preventive Medicine
2008: Ernst Jung-Award for Medicine, Ernst-Jung Society Hamburg
2008: Elected Honorary Member, Ludwig-Heilmeyer Society
since 2007: Appointed Thesis Opponent, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
2006: Young Investigator Award of the American Society of Nephrology
2005: Franz-Volhard-Award of the German Society of Nephrology
2005: Honorary Fellow of the American Society of Nephrology
2003: Heisenberg Fellowship of the German Research Foundation


Link to PubMed