Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne

Election of the Chair and Vice Chairs of the Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne


Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing re-elected as CMMC Chair for the next term of 3 years. As Vice-Chairs Prof. Dr. Guenter Schwarz was re-elected and Prof. Dr. Sabine Eming was elected for the first time.




The results of the written election were announced during the virtual General Assembly on June 30, 2020. With the presentation of the Scientific Coordinators and Honorary Members, the new Executive Board of the CMMC was introduced. The CMMC Executive Board, chaired by Prof. Thomas Benzing, is responsible for and is taking action with regard to the scientific development and organizational issues.

Overview of the members of the CMMC´s Executive Board

  • Chair - Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing (Dept. II of Internal Medicine)
  • Vice-Chair - Prof. Dr. Sabine Eming (Dept. of Dermatology and Venerology)
  • Vice Chair -  Prof. Dr. Guenter Schwarz (Institute for Biochmeistry - UoC)

Scientific Coordinators - Research Area A

  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Büttner (Institute for Pathology)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Hallek (Dept. I of Internal Medicine)
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Hammerschmidt (Institute for Zoology)
  • Prof. Dr. Jens Klußmann (Dept. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery)
  • Prof. Dr. Michal Ruth Schweiger (Institute for Translational Epigenomics) 

Scientific Coordinators - Research Area B

  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Baldus (Dept. III of Internal Medicine)
  • Claus Cursiefen (Dept. of Ophthalmology)
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Klein (Institute for Virology)
  • Prof. Dr. Mats Paulsson (Institute for Biochemistry II)
  • Prof. Dr. Olaf Utermöhlen (Inst. for Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene)

Scientific Coordinators - Research Area C

  • Prof. Dr. Jens Brüning (Center for Endocrinology, Diabetes & Preventive Medicine)
  • Prof. Dr. Tatiana Korotkova (Inst. for Veg. Physiology)
  • Prof. Dr. Carien M Niessen (Dept. of Cell Biology of the Skin)
  • Prof. Dr. Brunhilde Wirth (Institute for Human Genetics)

Honorary Members

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Krieg (Translational Matrix Biology)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Dres. Wilhelm Stoffel (Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience)

Permanent Members
Dean of the Medical Faculty - Prof. Dr. Gereon Fink
Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
- Prof. Dr. Paul H M van Lossdrecht