Prof. Dr. med. Claus Cursiefen - Curriculum Vitae

Education and professional career

since 2016: Member of German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina
since 2015: Chair, Task Force Research, German Ophthalmological Society
since 2015: Study section member (“Fachkollegiat”) Ophthalmology, German Research Foundation DFG
since 2015: WP leader, EU Horizon 2020 ARREST BLINDNESS
since 2015: Speaker, DFG Research Group FOR 2240 ‘Lymphangiogenesis and cellular immunity in inflammatory diseases of the eye’
since 2014: Chair, EU COST Action BM1302 ‘Joining Forces in corneal regeneration’
2014 - 2016: Member of the Board, Novaliq GmbH, Heidelberg
since 2012: President, European Network for Excellence in Corneal Regeneration (NEXCR), Leiden
since 2011: W3-Professor and Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Cologne
2011: W2-Professor for Ophthalmology, University of Erlangen
since 2011: Member of the Board, Section Cornea, German Ophthalmological Society
since 2009: Adjunct Associate Scientist and Visiting Professor, Schepens Eye Research Institute, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Harvard, Boston
2007: Nomination for ‘European Leadership Development Program’ 2007-2009 Societas Ophthalmologica Europeae, Wien
2007: Research Award, German Ophthalmological Society, DOG, Berlin
2006: Research Award of Dr. Walter and Luise Freundlich Foundation, Frankfurt
2006: Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology e.V. Award, Munich
2004 - 2011: Privatdozent and Staff member (Oberarzt), Department of Ophthalmology, University of Erlangen, Director of Cornea Bank
2004: ‘Cora Verhagen Award’, ARVO (Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, Washington)
2003: Habilitation and Venia Legendi, University of Erlangen
2002 - 2004: DFG Postdoctoral fellow at Schepens Eye Research Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston (Prof. Wayne Streilein, Prof. Reza Dana)
2001: European and German Board Exam in Ophthalmology, International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Exam
1997: MD-thesis, Department of Anatomy, University of Würzburg: ‘summa cum laude’
1995 - 2001: Resident Ophthalmology, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Erlangen
1989 - 1995: Study Scholarship, Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation e.V., Bonn
1988 - 1995: Study of Medicine, Universities of Regensburg, Würzburg, Dundee / St. Andrews and London, German Medical State Exam, USMLE
1988: Study travel award, ZIS e.V. / German UNESCO, Schule Schloss Salem

Selected publications

Heindl LM et al. Block Excision of Iridociliary Tumors Enables Molecular Profiling and Immune Vaccination. Ophthalmology. 2017;124:268-270.

Hos et al. Incidence and Clinical Course of Immune Reactions after Descemet Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty: Retrospective Analysis of 1000 Consecutive Eyes. Ophthalmology. 2017;124:512-518.

Hos et al. IL-10 Indirectly Regulates Corneal Lymphangiogenesis and Resolution of Inflammation via Macrophages. Am J Pathol. 2016;186:159-71.

Cursiefen C, Viaud E, Bock F, et al. Aganirsen antisense oligonucleotide eye drops inhibit keratitis-induced corneal neovascularization and reduce need for transplantation: The I-CAN study. Ophthalmology. 2014;121:1683-92.

Bock F, Maruyama K, Regenfuss B, Hos D, Steven P, Heindl LM, Cursiefen C. Novel  anti(lymph)angiogenic treatment strategies for corneal and ocular surface diseases. Prog Retin Eye Res. 2013;34:89-124.

Platonova N, Miquel G, Regenfuss B, Taouji S, Cursiefen C, Chevet E, Bikfalvi A. Evidence for the interaction of fibroblast growth factor-2 with the lymphatic endothelial cell marker LYVE-1. Blood. 2013;121:1229-37.

Bock F, Rössner S, Onderka J, Lechmann M, Pallotta M, Fallarino F, Boon L, Nicolette C, Debenedette M, Tcherepanova I, Grohmann U, Steinkasserer A, Cursiefen C, Zinser E. Topical application of soluble CD83 induces IDO-mediated immune modulation, increases Foxp3 T cells, and prolongs allogeneic corneal grafts survival. J Immunol. 2013;191:1965-75.

Cursiefen C, Maruyama K, Bock F, Saban D, Sadrai Z, Lawler J, Dana R, Masli S. Thrombospondin 1 inhibits inflammatory lymphangiogenesis by CD36 ligation on monocytes. J Exp Med. 2011;208:1083-92.

Steven P, Bock F, Hüttmann G, Cursiefen C. Intravital two-photon microscopy of immune cell dynamics in corneal lymphatic vessels. PLoS One. 2011;6:e 26253.

Dietrich T, Bock F, Yuen D, Hos D, Bachmann BO, Zahn G, Wiegand S, Chen L, Cursiefen C. Cutting edge: lymphatic vessels, not blood vessels, primarily mediate immune rejections after transplantation. J Immunol. 2010;184:535-9.

Cursiefen C, Chen L, Saint-Geniez M, Hamrah P, Jin Y, Rashid S, Pytowski B, Persaud K, Streilein JW, Dana MR. Nonvascular VEGFR3 expression by corneal epithelium maintains avascularity and vision. Proc National Acad Sci USA. 2006;103:11405-10.

Chen L, Hamrah P, Cursiefen C, Jackson D, Streilein JW, Dana MR. Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor-3 (VEGFR-3) mediates dendritic cell migration to lymph nodes and induction of immunity to corneal transplants. Nature Medicine. 2004;10:813-5.

Cursiefen C, Chen L, Borges L, Jackson D, D’Amore PA, Dana MR, Wiegand SJ, Streilein JW. Via bone marrow-derived macrophages, VEGF A mediates lymph- and hemangiogenesis in inflammatory neovascularization. J Clin Investigation. 2004;113:1040-50.