Center for Molecular Medicine Cologne

CMMC Executive Board

The CMMC has successfully started the 10th funding period on Jan. 01, 2023. As in previous funding periods and according to the statutes of the center the members of the CMMC Board elected the chairperson and the two vice chairpersons for the next period of three years (06/2023 - 06/2026). The outcome of the election was announced on June 19, 2023.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing (Clinic II of Internal Medicine) was re-elected as Chairperson. Prof. Dr. Sabine Eming (Clinic of Dermatology) and Guenter Schwarz (Institute for Biochemistry, UoC) were re-elected as Vice-Chairperson

All three elected candidates accepted their election and thanked the CMMC members for their trust. They are looking forward to continue the scientific and structural development of the CMMC for the next term of three years (06/2023 - 06/2026).

Announcement of the Scientific Coordinators of the three key research areas and the honorary members
Following CMMC Board members were appointed as scientific coordinators of the three research areas. Prof. Dr. Thomas Benzing announced the names of the Scientific Coordinators of the three focus areas, thanked them for the excellent collaboration during the last term and their willingness to address and further advance the CMMC's scientific and structural development over the next three years.

Research Area A
Reinhard Büttner- Institute of Pathology
Michael Hallek - Clinic I of Internal Medicine
Matthias Hammerschmidt - Institute of Zoologyy - Math.-Nat. Faculty
Peter Jens Klußmann - Dept. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery
Michal-Ruth Schweiger - Institute of Translational Epigenetics

Research Area B
Stephan Baldus  - Clinic III of Internal Medicine
Claus Cursiefen  - Clinic of Ophthalmology
Florian Klein - Institute for Virology
Olaf Utermöhlen - Institute for Med. Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene

Research Area C
Jens C Brüning - Center for Endocrinology, Diabetes and Preventive Medicine
Carien M Niessen - Dept. of Cell Biology of the Skin
Tatiana Korotkova - Institute for Vegetative Physiology
Brunhilde Wirth - Institute for Human Genetics

Honorary Members
Thomas Krieg - Translational Matrix Biology
Martin Krönke - Institute for Med. Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene
Mats Paulsson - Institute of Biochemistry II
Wilhelm Stoffel - Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience

The Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons together with the scientific coordinators of the three research areas as well as the honorary members are forming the “new” Executive Board of the CMMC. Permanent members are the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine (currently Prof. Dr. Gereon Fink) and the Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (currently Prof. Dr. Georg Bareth).

Detailed information of the members of the Executive Board: